Lewiston Youth Advisory Council

2021 is the 20th Year of LYAC - Great Feature Article by the Sun Journal on 7/24/21.

The Lewiston Youth Advisory Council (LYAC) was established by the Lewiston City Council in 2001, with the Charter membership first meeting in September 2002.  Each spring renders a new application/interview process, with each LYAC year running from July to July. 

Since then, members have worked closely with municipal staff, state/local officials, and members of the community on various initiatives that have been very positive for the City of Lewiston.  LYAC is annually sponsored by the Lewiston Firefighters Association; thank you! To contact the youth council, please call 207-513-3018 or email dottie@lewistonmaine.gov

On July 13, 2021, the 2021 - 2022 membership was announced during the evening’s City Council meeting.  

The 2021 - 2022 Membership
(July 2021 - July 2022)

Ryleigh Emmert 
Cadence Nadeau
Elissa Nadeau
Emily Fournier
Keira Potvin
Brea Mathieu
Hannah Arsenault

Abas Shidad
Sharmarke Khalid
Nafisa Tasnia
Omar Osman
Anzal Isaak

Youth Council Mission

"The LYAC shall serve as an advisory council to the Lewiston City Council in regards to community issues affecting youth and shall serve as a liaison between the youth of the community and the City. The LYAC shall enable youth to work toward goals that empower all of the community’s youth and to undertake service projects that enhance the community."


Dottie Perham-Whittier, Community Relations Coordinator

City Councilor Liaison

 Councilor Luke Jensen